Skip navigation

as i mentioned, i was out in white rock for a few days to attend a red leaf studios workshop. i keep trying to remember every detail, but i seriously learned so much, i don’t know that it’s possible to keep it all in my head. i spent all of yesterday just thinking, reading, thinking… and i know that the stuff i learned will be on my mind for quite some time as it really sinks in.

richard and amy are honestly two of the kindest people i’ve ever met. they really gave us 100%, and were basically available 24/7 for any and all questions we had. wednesday night, 7 of the 10 students left by 8pm, and the other two were gone by 10pm… but richard and amy sat up and talked with me until 1:30am, and i can’t explain how much that meant to me. i can be a pretty nervous person at times, but i really felt so comfortable talking with them and learning from them. last night, they went through my entire website with me, and critiqued every photo, which, on its own, was well worth the cost of the workshop. this was one of the best experiences of my life, both professionally and personally.

we had a few different models but surprisingly, i didn’t take very many photos. i preferred to watch richard and amy, seeing how they work. but here are a few…

when we first arrived at this location, i thought that i would not choose this spot for shooting, because the light was so spotty. but because of their teachings, i was able to take this random shot of amy photographing the model… this is directly from the camera, no editing whatsoever. and i just love the look of the colours and the light in it, even though it’s obviously not a great photo, composition-wise.

here’s another very cool technique richard taught, which i look forward to putting into practice very soon…

then, richard loaned me his 45mm tilt-shift lens, which was definitely a (fun) challenge for me. the lens does not have an autofocus, so that was tough on its own, let alone the shifting parts! but i loved it, and will be getting my own very very soon. here are a couple shots i took of stacey, who was very patient to stay in a pose for some time while i figured out the lens…

you’ll be seeing more from me + this lens very soon…

2 Comments

  1. WOW!!! I can’t wait to see you put more stuff into practice!!

    Kudos!! Every day I am amazed more and more by your work. You’re my hero!!

  2. Dude! i love my yoga pose!


Leave a Reply

